Emergency Medicine Residency: Faculty

Dedicated Faculty with a Passion for Critical Care

About Our Faculty

Thirty-six full and part time faculty lead the Emergency Medicine Residency. Our program is affiliated with the University of Minnesota and all faculty hold university appointments. In addition, our faculty hold multiple leadership positions at HCMC and play an integral role in our healthcare system’s operations.

Program Leadership

  • Dr. James Miner, Chief of Emergency Medicine, Vice Chair Research Director, Emergency Medicine, University of Minnesota
  • Dr. Douglas Brunette, Senior Medical Director, Hospital Care Ring, Medical Director, Emergency & Trauma Service
  • Dr. William Heegaard, Chief Medical Officer and Chief Clinical Officer of Hennepin Health System
  • Dr. David Plummer, Assistant Chief of Emergency Medicine
  • Dr. Robert Reardon, Medical Director, Emergency Department and Urgent Care, Program Director, Emergency Ultrasound Fellowship
  • Dr. Jeffrey Ho, Medical Director, HCMC Emergency Medical Services (Advanced Life Support Paramedic Service, Ambulance Service and EMS Education), Program Director, Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Fellowship
  • Dr. Jon Cole, Medical Director of the Hennepin Regional Poison Center and Minnesota Poison Control System
  • Dr. Danielle Hart, Program Director, Emergency Medicine Residency and Director of Interdisciplinary Simulation and Education Center
  • Dr. Megan Rischall, Assistant Program Director, Emergency Medicine Residency, Director of Medical Student Clerkship in Emergency Medicine
  • Dr. Nathaniel Scott, Program Director, Emergency Medicine/Internal Medicine Residency, Program Director, Emergency Medicine/Internal Medicine/Critical Care Residency and Assistant Program Director, Emergency Medicine Residency
  • Dr. Stephen Hendriksen, Program Director, Undersea and Hyperbaric Medicine Fellowship

Areas of Expertise

From our comprehensive airway program to our cutting-edge ultrasound training, every day our faculty share their dedication and expertise in a variety of key disciplines.

Discipline Faculty
Airway program Dr. John McGill
Dr. Robert Reardon
Cardiac arrest research Dr. Keith Lurie
Cardiology and ECG training Dr. Stephen Smith
Disaster preparedness Dr. John Hick
EMS Dr. Jeffrey Ho
Hyperbaric medicine Dr. Stephen Hendriksen
Dr. Christopher Logue

Dr. Thomas Masters
Interdisciplinary Simulation and Education Center Dr. Danielle Hart
International medicine Dr. Stephen Dunlop
Pediatrics Dr. Ashley Strobel
Dr. Albert Tsai
Research Dr. Michelle Biros
Dr. Brian Driver
Dr. James Miner

Dr. Johanna Moore
Toxicology Dr. Jon Cole
Dr. Travis Olives
Dr. Ann Arens
Ultrasound training Dr. Andrew Laudenbach
Dr. Dave Plummer

Dr. Robert Reardon
Dr. Andrea Rowland-Fisher

Professional Leadership

Faculty members have served in state and national organizations at all levels. These include:

  • Senior Vice President for Hospital-Based Accreditation, Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME)
  • President, Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM)
  • President American Board of Emergency Medicine (ABEM)
  • Chair, Residency Review Committee for Emergency Medicine (RRC)
  • President Minnesota Chapter, American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP)
  • ABEM examiners
  • Chair, ACEP Academic Affairs Committee
  • Editor-in-chief, Academic Emergency Medicine
  • Editorial board, Journal of Emergency Medicine
  • Reviewer: Annals of Emergency Medicine, Academic Emergency Medicine, American Journal of Emergency Medicine, Journal of Emergency Medicine, JAMA, Hyperbaric Medicine
ACGME logo

The Emergency Medicine Residency at HCMC is ACGME accredited.